We're Moving!

 

The Evelyn K. Davis Center will soon be relocating to a new building at 1171 7th Street, next to the DMACC Urban Campus. Learn more...

​At the Evelyn K. Davis Center for Working Families, we're helping families and individuals improve their financial position and connecting them with their work and career goals.

From its location in the heart of Des Moines, Iowa, the state's capital city, the Evelyn K. Davis Center is helping many Central Iowans build their educational and job dreams. This first-of-its-kind center is a beacon for those looking for educational, job training and career opportunities by delivering these workforce services. We're preparing many Central Iowans to find their life's calling as successful, working Iowans. View our annual Community Report

The Center is a partnership between the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines, The Directors Council and Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC). Along with a grocery store located in the same building complex, the partnership is providing solutions to three crucial needs identified by local residents: workforce training, employment opportunities and grocery and retail services.​


Our Services

Education and Employment

Job research, resume writing, hiring days, employment readiness programs such as WTA, YouthBuild, and PREP

Income and work supportsIncome and Work Supports

Social services, connection to housing and transportation, substance abuse referrals, reentry support

Financial services and asset buildingFinancial Services and Asset Building

One-on-one financial coaching, financial education workshops, credit counseling, home buying



Who was Evelyn K. Davis?

 

Evelyn K. Davis supported working families in Des Moines by providing affordable childcare for 23 years. She was an advocate for families, connecting with city and political leaders to encourage access to jobs and education. It is our hope that the​ Evelyn K. Davis Center embodies her spirit, as well as her action.

 

Read more

Evelyn K. Davis with the children 

Our Director

Marvin DeJear

Marvin DeJear
515.697.1476
mdejear@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Our Staff

Amber Alli
Amber Alli
Marketing & Communications
Coordinator
515.697.1453
aalli@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Jason Vang  
Jason Vang
Program Specialist/
Public Allies Iowa AmeriCorps
515.697.1459
Jcvang1@dmacc.edu

Fernando Aveiga
Michael Driscoll
Front Desk
515.697.7700
mtdriscoll@dmacc.edu

Leonard Bell
Lenny Bell
DMACC YouthBuild Director
515.697.7768
lbell3@dmacc.edu

Helen Bothwell
Helen Bothwell
NCRC Test Proctor
hlbothwell@dmacc.edu

 

Jon Douglas
John Douglas
SAAF Program Coordinator
jrdouglas3@dmacc.edu

 

 

Charles Zanders  
Charles Zanders
Career Coach
515.697.1475
cwzanders1@dmacc.edu

Joy Esposito
Joy Esposito
Assistant Director
515.697.7736
jnesposito@dmacc.edu

Pamela Gaddy
Pamela Gaddy
Workforce Training Academy Specialist
515.697.7715
pmgaddy@dmacc.edu

Dwight Jackson
Dwight Jackson
Community & Business Relations
Specialist
515.697.7728
Dajackson7@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Charlene Johnson
Charlene Johnson
Front Desk
515.697.7700
Csjohnson6@dmacc.edu

 

 

Lisa Saffell 
Lisa Saffell
Administrative Assistant III
515.697.7701
ljsaffell@dmacc.edu

Rachelle Long
Rachelle Long
Community & Business Relations
Specialist
515.697.7728
Rlong11@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Cheryl McCracken
Cheryl McCracken
Workforce Training Academy – Administrative Assistant
515.697.7713
Camccracken1@dmacc.edu

Melody Riley
Melody Riley
Administrative Assistant II
515.697.7700
mariley3@dmacc.edu


Not Pictured

Mary Chapman
Vice President – Emeritus/DMACC Ambassador
515.249.3827
mlchapman@dmacc.edu

Deidre DeJear
Financial Empowerment Center
Program Manager
918.260.4264
dodejear@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Andrea Jensen
Workforce Training Academy Pathway Specialist
515.697.1485
aljensen5@dmacc.edu

Kay Maher
Workforce Training Academy Specialist
515.697.7710  
klmaher@dmacc.edu

Terrance Cheeks
Career Coach
515.697.1472   
tcheeks@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Darrell Neal-Smith 
Career Coach 
515.697.7705 
darrell.nealsmith@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Katrina Williams 
Financial Empowerment Center
Personal Financial Coach 

515.697.1478   
katrina.williams@evelynkdaviscenter.org

David Howard
Financial Empowerment Center
​Personal Financial Coach 

515.697.1484   
david.howard@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Rai Ahmed-Green 
Financial Empowerment Center
Marketing Specialist 

515.697.1453   
rai@empowermoney.org

Michael Hardat 
Financial Empowerment Center
Financial Navigator 

515.697.1484   
michael@empowermoney.org

​​Robert Pate 
Community Resource Specialist 
515.697.1473   
robert.pate@evelynkdaviscenter.org

​Erma Mujic 
Public Allies Coordinator 
515.697.7714   
emujic2@dmacc.edu

Curtis Baugh 
Director of Asset Development
515.697.1454 
curtis.baugh@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Zamira Fraire-Salas 
DMACC Youthbuild Case Manager 
515.697.7706   
zmfrairesalas@dmacc.edu

Miranda Pettus 
Financial Empowerment Center
Program Coordinator
515.697.1450   
mspettus@dmacc.edu

Kameron Middlebrooks 
ISU Minority Business Coordinator 
515.697.7712   
kameronm@iastate.edu

Debbie Buster 
Front Desk 
515.697.7700   
djbuster@dmacc.edu